Just Another Manic Monday

I love music.  Music speaks to me a lot like books do– I’ll find that song (or book) that touches me and I’ll read or listen to it again and again until it’s imprinted on my heart forever.  Because of this, I’ve decided every Monday to post a song that either currently is my heart song or has been in the past.  This series is named after The Bangles song “Manic Monday” (The Relient K version is fun too!).

This week’s song is by an artist I’ve come to love: Jeff Pianki.  I have fallen in love with his music.  His lyrics are so honest and his voice is incredible.  He’ll throw out a lyric at least in every song that will make me stop and think about it.  Or the entire song will be like that.

If I Had My Way, Jeff Pianki


[it might take a little bit too load– but it’s worth it!!]

1,2,3,4…
I’m tired of the sounds of talking too loud
of walls and of windows which always surround
of feeling my feet attached to this ground
if I had my way I would just have you ’round.

I’m tired of trudging through cities and towns
the soles of my sneakers won’t stop wearing down
If love is so simple then where are you now?
If I had my way I would just have you ’round
If I had my way I would just have you ’round

I’m stubborn and sick of these simple solutions
of wondering what isn’t right
of not knowing whether I’m winning or losing
I’ll always be wondering why…?

I’m tired of spotting these shapes in the clouds
of romantic movies
of laughing out loud
of feeling alone when I’m stuck in the crowd
if I had my way I would just have you ’round
if I had my way I would just have you ’round
if I had my way I would just have you ’round.

More lyrics I love from Jeff Pianki from other songs:

“You wake up one day and don’t recognize your face
when home is a place that feels so far away
I felt like I lost myself, I just lost my place.”

“so hard to love when you hate to let things go
and your dream will remind you only have so much control”

“It’s been ten years
And I’ve got my new set of scars
From broken hearts and broken arms
From chasing after where you are

I’ve cried a couple tears
Been taking everything too far”

“So who’s gonna love you now
That gravity brought you down”

“Now my brain doesn’t work,
’cause I gave it to you and my thoughts are all lost
and my head’s been unscrewed”

“Love will surround you my dear
In the autumn or spring
In New York or here
No matter how cold or distant some days may appear
Just know love is all around you my dear”

“Old habits die hard or never do
Keep lying ’till they all catch up to you”

“Last night I could not sleep
I thought about what you said to me
How memories are hollow seeds
Planting paper window dreams”

“Everyone I’ve ever met
Has felt something I haven’t yet
A cause, a cure, a deep regret
A face, a fear they can’t forget”


You can listen to more of his music at jeffpianki.com and download it for whatever price you want.

Leave a comment